20 Comments

Absolutely zero times. I have voiced my displeasure and filed OPRA requests many times. My boy walks tall with his mask down and they all just look away. They all fear me like a heart attack and for good reason. Everyone needs to hold their ground.

Expand full comment
Nov 11, 2021Liked by Mathgoddess

My 6th grader was quarantined 2 occasions within a week from each other. It was "possible "exposure at lunch table. He was forced to stay out of school with no symptoms for a total of 10 days. This reasoning and direction of NJ schools is absurd and makes no sense.

Expand full comment
Nov 11, 2021Liked by Mathgoddess

My 4 year old had to be out 10 days from preschool because of a fever, runny nose and cough. Then she went back for 2 days and got another fever and runny nose. I had to take her for a Covid test or else she would have to be out an additional 10 days. It’s ridiculous and it’s only been common colds.

Expand full comment
Nov 11, 2021Liked by Mathgoddess

As of 2:30pm today, Morristown High School (student and staff population est.1600-2000 ppl) shut down in person learning and all extra curricular until Nov. 21 for 'at least' 10 positive cases... their words, not mine. Their official notification for school closing didn't even give the specific metrics... 'at least' 10 was good enough.

Student, staff and all visitors are masked. I would estimate that all teachers are vaccinated.. (I used to teach there and still have a pulse of the people) I also imagine the student body is anywhere from 50-80% vaccinated based on the number of families I know and how freely and quickly they give out their vax status. Regardless of the exact percentages- every interested body who wants a vax in this community has more than one avenue to get it.

When.. when will this madness end.

I have one son who opted to homeschool, but another son who really was desperate to begin his high school career, even wearing a mask... It pains me to send him off with one, but I wanted to honor his wishes.

I have so many frustrations, upsets... but where I find myself fueled with the most rage- MHS offered a virtual option last year that was not amazing.. but tolerable and allowed my son to complete his academics virtually to avoid the mask and hospitalized setting.. the saving grace of it all- he was able to participate in activities and athletics and maintain some semblance of high school life. The virtual option was eliminated for this year... even though there was a significant part of the population who benefited. No explanation as to why.

And now, here we are. As soon as it is convenient from the school's perspective- virtual is back up and running. Teachers were notified at 2:30 today about the change... all will scramble to get online lessons together for tomorrow at 7:45 am. It is inhumane, embarrassing and ... enraging.

Expand full comment
Nov 11, 2021Liked by Mathgoddess

My freshman was in school for 3 weeks and had already had a 10 day quarantine. We chose to withdraw.

Expand full comment

To many times. It’s ridiculous

Expand full comment

My 6 year old has missed 4 weeks of school due to “close contact”. He never showed any symptoms and he was tested both times so he could go to daycare but not return to school until after his 14 day quarantine. The kids who had Covid were back in school before he was.

Expand full comment